All posts tagged as cartina

30 Mag

DOLOMITES Unesco World Heritage Site

In SPECIALI by admin / 30 maggio 2013 / 0 Comments

On June 26th 2009 the Dolomites were granted UNESCO World Heritage status in recognition of both their unique beauty and their geological significance. The UNESCO convention stipulates that areas of cultural and natural importance in every part of the world should be preserved for the benefit of all mankind, and the insertion of the Dolomites in the World Heritage List is therefore an extraordinary accolade and a fantastic opportunity for our region which brings with it a need to take responsibility for the protection and sustainable development of this splendid alpine region.

The UNESCO Dolomites symbolise our natural heritage, complex and diverse yet also offering a sense of togetherness. The nine Dolomites ranges collectively boast geological marvels and unique landscapes with a rich tapestry of geological and aesthetic connections.

The nine Dolomites ranges which make up this extraordinary “geological archipelago” cover five provinces (Belluno, Bolzano, Pordenone, Trento and Udine) and an area of 142,000 hectares in which four different, officially-recognised languages are spoken. The geographical location of the World Heritage Site across five provinces characterised by different institutional and administrative setups necessitated the founding, on May 13th 2010, of the Fondazione Dolomiti Dolomiten Dolomites Dolomitis UNESCO, with the aim of coordinating the management of the Site in order to ensure its needs are safeguarded.

Cadore is situated in the heart of the UNESCO Dolomites, centrally located with respect to three of the nine ranges: Pelmo-Croda da Lago; Dolomiti Friulane and d’Oltre Piave; and the northern Dolomites.


12 Mag

Geographical Context

In INFO by admin / 12 maggio 2013 / 0 Comments

Cadore is situated in a picturesque location and represents one of Italy’s most beautiful and enchanting territories, set apart by its uniqueness in both geological and historical terms. It covers an area of 1,427 km2 and is made up of 22 parishes.
It shares borders with the province of Bolzano (Val Pusteria) to the north/north-west, with the provinces of Pordenone and Udine to the east/south-east, with the Belluno region to the south and with the Agordino and Zoldano areas to the west.

Train: to Calalzo di Cadore. Calalzo’s railway station is the terminus for services from Venice, Mestre and Padua.
Car: A27 Venice – Ponte nelle Alpi, then SS51 towards Longarone and Tai di Cadore. At the Tai crossroads turn right for Calalzo, Comelico and Auronzo, and left for the Valle del Boite and Cortina.
Air: the closest airports are Venice “Marco Polo” (135 km) and Treviso “S.Angelo” (100 km).