All posts tagged as legno

21 Mag

Sappada

In PAESI by admin / 21 maggio 2013 / 0 Comments

Sappada / Plodn, a German-speaking enclave, stretches along the main road for about five kilometres and is divided into fifteen hamlets (heivilan). All around there are imposing mountains which are a couple of hours’ walk from the centre of the town. In the old part of the village, “Sappada Vecchia”, there are several 17th and 18th century wooden houses constructed with the Blockbau technique. Typical features of each hamlet are fountains, crucifixes, chapels; other symbols of faith, such as crucifixes and chapels, are dotted around the countryside. Among the most notable churches are the parish church, dedicated to St Margaret, built in baroque style in 1779 with paintings by Renzler, Moro and Barazzutti, St Oswald’s in Cimasappada(1732) and the church Regina Pacis (1973). There are many local traditions and customs, from the language (plodarisch) to the Carnival (Vosenòcht) which has its symbol in the stern character “Rollate”. A visit to the local museums  offers the opportunity to learn about history and culture: the ethnographic museum “Giuseppe Fontana”, the museum of rural life and the Little museum of the Great War. Moreover the painter Pio Solero was born here. Sappada is a well-known tourist resort both in winter, thanks to the skiing facilities, and in summer, when visitors can enjoy the many beauties of the valley: the alpine fauna park, with fallow deer and chamois, the waterfalls on Rio Mühlbach, the Acquatona gorge at the entrance to the village, a deep ravine cut by the river Piave that rises in the nearby Val Sesis, and the lakes d’Olbe right up in the mountains.

INFO
Comelico & Sappada tourist association: 0435.428343
info@sappadadolomiti.com / www.sappadadolomiti.com
Sappada tourist office: 0435.469131
www.sappada-plodn.com

13 Mag

Perarolo di Cadore

In PAESI by admin / 13 maggio 2013 / 0 Comments

From the second half of the 14th century, and for centuries thereafter, timber trading was the basis of the local economy. It was here that logs tied up in rafts used to start their journey by river all the way to Venice. The history of timber floating is documented in the museum (Museo del Cidolo e del legname) housed in a 19th century palace “Casa dei Trofei”, decorated with fine stuccoes. The then queen of Italy, Queen Margherita, was a guest here. The exhibits in the museum are organised around the central piece, the “cidolo”, a sort of barrage used to stop the logs that floated down the river while allowing the normal water flow. The original machinery, a construction unique to Cadore, was installed in the area called Sacco and was dismantled in the 20th century. Palazzo Lazzaris, built by a family of timber traders, was the first residence of a sort of compound that includes the garden, Casa dei Trofei and the church. In the village there are other fine historic houses. The church, with paintings by Tomaso Da Rin and Giuseppe Ghedina, is dedicated to St Nicholas. It was built in 1407, but it has subsequently been altered on several occasions. Other churches in the area are St Anne’s and St Rocco’s, St Michael’s in Caralte and the oratory of Our Lady of Health in Macchietto. The men who used to float the timber all came from Caralte, a medieval hamlet which was completely destroyed by a fire in the 19th century. Only the bell tower and some 17th-18th  century tuff masks survived. The wilderness reserve of Val Montina, near Perarolo, is a wild and unspoilt environment where nature has reverted to what it was probably like in the late Mesolithic period.

INFO
www.comune.perarolodicadore.bl.it